More on Ancient Hebrews and Religion

Moses holding up his arms during the battle, assisted by Aaron and Hur. Painting by John Everett Millais

In response to an article on the Exodus in which I referred to the Hebrew people as Jews, I received notification that the term was anachronistic before about the year 735. Had I remembered this comment accurately, I would have realized that it accounts for the era in which the Hebrew families worshiped other gods. At least I think it does. I really need to learn more about this period, but for now, it seems that from the time when the Hebrews became the Jewish people, they worshiped the one Yhwh deity.

Another puzzle was the idea of a horned Moses. Looking at Wikipedia for re-useable pictures of Moses like the one shown here, I found the explanation. Again, my knowledge is lacking here, so I just have to take internet sources’ words for it that the reason is that a word in Exodus that could translate as radiant face looks like the Hebrew word for horn. So after Moses came down from Mt. Sinai and his conversation with God, he was radiant in his face or had horns on his head.

1 Comment

  1. I’d heard of this before, and a quick google led me to < HREF="http://penelope.uchicago.edu/pseudodoxia/pseudo59.html" REL="nofollow"> this chapter <>from an online edition of Sir Thomas Browne’s Pseudodoxia Epidemica, aka Vulgar Errors, which discusses the point. Both Browne’s comments and his editor’s comments and illustrations on this topic are interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

