More on Roman Warfare Vocabulary

See that “vocabulary” in the title? I tried “glossary”, glossaries”, and “word list” and “vocabulary,” but can’t remember which one finally hit pay dirt — not a gold mine, but some on-topic success. When I finally found time to devote to JSTOR, I found a useful tidbit for Philabovis, the Latin World of Warcraft guild member who posted a comment to my Vergil’s Weapons and Armor Vocabulary blog post.

Philabovis wanted me to post more weapons words from Vergil. I will if I find them, but I may not. I say that because according to an interesting, translated and explicated passage from Livy, the Romans had a basic kit:

Livy 1.43.2 “galea, clipeum, ocreae, lorica, omnia ex aere, haec ut tegumenta corporis essent: tela in hostem hastamque et gladius. ‘Helmet, round shield, greave, breastplate, all of bronze, to defend the body; as weapons against the enemy, spear and sword.'”

Source: Brown, John Pairman . “Peace Symbolism in Ancient Military Vocabulary.” Vetus Testamentum 21.1 (1971): 1-23. JSTOR. 16 July 2008.

The article goes on to explain the Roman panoply, as described in Greek by Polybius, includes a long shield or scutum, a bronze helmet, greaves, and chain-mail breastplate, but no Latin given.

Almost like my “So and so put on his ‘armor’ and his ‘armor’ and grabbed his ‘weapon’ and threw his ‘weapon’ at the enemy.”

Leave a Reply

